Chroniques littéraires

After You – Jojo Moyes

25255376
Original title
: After You
Author : Jojo Moyes
First published in : 2015
Genre : romance, drama
Edition : Penguin
Pages : 407
Status : read from 05/10/17 to 05/21/17
Get a copy

Synopsis : How do you move on after losing the person you loved? How do you build a life worth living?
Louisa Clark is no longer just an ordinary girl living an ordinary life. After the transformative six months spent with Will Traynor, she is struggling without him. When an extraordinary accident forces Lou to return home to her family, she can’t help but feel she’s right back where she started.
Her body heals, but Lou herself knows that she needs to be kick-started back to life. Which is how she ends up in a church basement with the members of the Moving On support group, who share insights, laughter, frustrations, and terrible cookies. They will also lead her to the strong, capable Sam Fielding—the paramedic, whose business is life and death, and the one man who might be able to understand her. Then a figure from Will’s past appears and hijacks all her plans, propelling her into a very different future…
For Lou Clark, life after Will Traynor means learning to fall in love again, with all the risks that brings. But here Jojo Moyes gives us two families, as real as our own, whose joys and sorrows will touch you deeply, and where both changes and surprises await.

Review : Oh the feels! I was a little bit afraid I wouldn’t love this one as much as I loved Me Before You, especially since I’ve heard that several people didn’t really enjoy this book. However, I literally loved it and was very glad to finally discover Lou’s new adventure. I had imagined some things for her at the end of Me Before You but this story is so much better than what I had in mind! Once again, Jojo Moyes made me cry but also made me smile and laugh with Lou’s singular but lovable personality. The story is strong and makes us think about our own life and capacity to move on. We all go through difficulties during life and this kind of stories teach us and help us to find the better in each situation in order to have a beautiful life even though there are hard times too. I’ve been through difficulties these last years and I still have some problems which stop me sometimes, but thanks to this novel, I’ll try to be stronger and live the life I really want to live. For that, thank you Jojo Moyes. That is why I really love literature: it allows us to find the better in all of us.

Also by Jojo Moyes : Me Before You + Still Me + Le Vent nous portera

6 réflexions au sujet de “After You – Jojo Moyes”

Laisser un commentaire